Department of Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures

Give to MFLL

Faculty Awards

Flavia Brizio

Flavia Brizio (Italian) was a Humanities Center Fellow for academic year 2012-13 at UT. She received a Ready for The World grant for inviting a visiting scholar this Fall and organized the linkage between UT and the University of Genoa, Italy.

Les Essif

Les Essif (French) received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching for Spring 2013.

Michael Handelsman

Michael Handelsman (Spanish) was reappointed Distinguished Professor in the Humanities for another five-year period and presented a paper in Cuenca, Ecuador: “Antonio Preciado. Una lectura afrocĂ©ntrica de un poeta para todos,” Sexto Encuentro LASA-Ecuador, Cuenca, Ecuador (27-29 de junio 2013). He continues serving as Director of Global Studies and the Office of National Scholarships and Fellowships at UT.

Noriko Horiguchi

Noriko Horiguchi (Japanese) accepted a Visiting Associate Professorship with Kobe University in Japan, April 1-July 31, 2014. She also received a Chancellor’s Research Grant in Spring 2013 .

Gregory Kaplan

Gregory Kaplan (Spanish) was awarded a Lindsay Young Professorship (2013-15) in recognition of professional achievement in research and teaching.

Mary McAlpin

Mary McAlpin (French) received a Professional Development Leave for Fall 2012.



Contribute to a big idea. Give to MFLL.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System